Japan and Korea introduce their men’s 7s squads

Asia Rugby’s Men’s Sevens Squads for Tokyo 2020,  Tokyo Olympic Games is billed to bring yet another feast for the senses as rugby’s sevens stars make their long-awaited return to the international stage at Tokyo Stadium (26-31 July).

Korea Men

Korea are in Pool A along with New Zeland , Asutralia and Argentina
One of the Korean players hoping to stand out from the crowd in Tokyo is former University of Berkeley student Andre Jin, who has an American father and a Korean mother. Any physical advantage is crucial in rugby, and Kim certainly has an edge as he stands at 1.95m tall.

Yongheung Chang, the hero of Korea’s golden-point victory over Hong Kong in the Asia Olympic qualifier in November 2019, is another player looking to catch the eye for the Olympic debutants.

Korea Men’s Sevens Squad

Yongheung Chang, Jeongmin Jang, Yeonsik Jeong, Hyunsoo Kim, Kunkyu Han, Namuk Kim, Seongbae Lee, Wanyong Park (Capt.), Jinkyu Lee, Andre Jin, Seongmin Jang, Seongdeok Choi, Gwongmin Kim

Japan Men

Men's Sevens Squad

Chihito Matsui has been named captain of the Japan Men’s Sevens for this year’s home tournament as Lote Tuqiri,Kazushi Hano and Masakatsu Hiko all make returns to the national sevens Olympics squad after helping Japan to the semi-finals at Rio 2016.

After their men’s 15s team stunned the rugby world at Rugby World Cup 2015 by beating South Africa in the pool stages, Japan’s sevens outfit pulled off a similar shock win at the Deodoro Stadium in Rio de Janeiro by defeating New Zealand 14-12 in their opening group game less than a year later.

Japan went on to secure fourth place after losing 54-14 against South Africa in the bronze medal match. Tuqiri dotted down to help Japan defeat France 12-7 in the quarter-finals before they lost to the eventual gold medal winners Fiji 20-5 in the semi-finals.

Japan Men’s Sevens Squad

Kippei Ishida, Ryota Kano, Jose Seru, Kameli Raravou Latianara Soejima, Lote Tuqiri, Kazushi Hano, Masakatsu Hikosaka, Yoshikazu Fujita, Brackin Henry, Colin Raijin Bourke, Chihito Matsui (captain), Naoki Motomura