Russia and France celebrate making the Olympic Games line up

The two European representatives at the Olympic Repechage in Monaco, sealed their spot in the final line up for the Tokyo Olympic Games.

In 2019, the French women and Russian women narrowly missed out at the European qualifiers after England proved to  be the best team then. After years of waiting for another chance at it, they final won their tickets to Tokyo, Japan.

As the only World Series teams in the Repechage line up, they were the undoubtable favorites to win the tournament, and if their performance this weekend said anything. It’s that these two teams definitely deserved the spot in the Olympic Games.

An unfortunate withdrawal of the Jamaican women’s 7s helped sort out the difficult flow of the special tournament which had two finals matches for the women’s tournament. Jamaica could not make a team “due to travel complications encountered by the delegation”. World Rugby then imposed a  rule which meant that the remaining teams in Pool B received no points at all for the games they would have played against the Jamaicans.
This sees that no matter how well teams in Pool B performed, they will still be the third best pool winners. It was lucky that Jamaica was not in the same pool as France or Russia or else things would’ve panned out differently for another team.

Russia and France dominated the tournament, their experience and skill level was beyond he other teams as they showed the world that they are coming to Tokyo for business. France did not let a single team score a single try against them the entire weekend, while Russia only gave up one try against an improving Argentine squad.

The Asian representative also did very well against the other teams, with Hong Kong even boasting their 100% record on day one. But ultimately, they were no match for the Europeans experience and  skills level. The Hong Kong women were even out sized by their French counterparts, as the French women obviously towered them.

Europe now have three teams in Tokyo (Great Britain, France and Russia), as will Oceania (Australia, New Zealand and Fiji), Asia and North America will have two each (China and Japan, and USA and Canada). South Africa and Brazil will complete the twelve for Africa and South America.