Asia Rugby 2021 Calendar

Asia Rugby has made announcements to confirm the commencement of the year 2021 competitions. The 2020 Asia Rugby Sevens Series was delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The iconic Asia Rugby Sevens Series is scheduled and will have three legs, with the series being hosted by the following countries: South Korea, China and Sri Lanka, from the span of August to September.

Asia Rugby Competitions Committee said that they have been engaged constantly with different unions in planning the 2021 Competitions Calendar and continues to work closely with the Player Welfare and Medical Committee and relevant stakeholders to monitor the updates and effects of the COVID19 pandemic,  ensuring that the competitions are held with all relevant safety measures in place.

Asia Rugby President, Mr Qais Al Dhalai said in his interview: “We are very excited about the Return of Rugby across Asia,  some of our unions have already kicked off their domestic tournaments and it’s the time now for international rugby as well”

He added “Asia Rugby is fully committed to the health and safety of players, fans and everyone working on the events which will always be our top priority and will keep monitoring the region’s health situation closely to implement the ideal protocols. As always, Asia Rugby will ensure that it’s longstanding guiding principles of  Equality, Transparency and  Accountability in all aspect of the game are fully exercised across the region”

He further added, “Asia Rugby has also explored various innovative opportunities aiming at serving its member unions and fans in the forms of Beach Rugby, and Snow Rugby”

Some of the sevens competitions scheduled this year,

From <

June 19-20, Olympics Repechage

August 21-22, Asia Rugby Under 18s boys

August 28-29, Asia Rugby Mens and womens Sevens Leg 1

September 11-12 Asia Rugby Mens and Womens Sevens Leg 2

September 18-19 Asia rugby under 18s girls

September 22-23 Asia Rugby Mens and Womens Sevens Leg 3

November 13-14 Asia rugby mens and  womens Trophy series