Captain Jacob Ojee returns to boost Kenya Sevens

By Alex Dudley

Paul Murunga has announced four changes to his squad for the final two rounds of the HSBC World Sevens Series in London and Paris.

The most significant boost will be the return of their captain Jacob Ojee, who is back in the squad following school commitments for the Asian legs of the series. Meanwhile, wingers Cyprian Kuto and Charles Omondi have also been included. The final new addition into his squad is Brian Wandera.

These four players come in for the dropped Shadon Munoko, Augustine Lugonzo, Oscar Dennis and Mark Wandetto.

Speaking to the KRU, Kuto said: “I am happy to be back in the team so that we can achieve our set targets in these last two legs of the series. I had a hip problem in Vancouver that has since been dealt from the rehab sessions with Lamech Bogonko and Michael Shamia. I am going to put my best foot forward.”

Ojee echoed that sentiment. Also speaking to the KRU, he said: “We have been working on our weak areas mostly during the last one month of training since the team came back from Hong Kong. We have also built up on our team plays since all the players have trained together, for longer and not as before when the senior players joined the set up a few sessions to the travel date.”

It is a big task ahead of the Kenyan side in Europe, as they are looking to fight off the threat of relegation which has been lingering over them. They currently sit in 13th place, just the solitary point ahead of Wales, and four ahead of Japan.

Murunga’s side will be hoping to reach their first quarter-final stage of the season in London but will need to overcome stiff competition in the form of Fiji, France and Samoa in Pool B.

Full Kenya Squad: Vincent Onyala, Andrew Amonde, Bush Mwale, Daniel Sikuta, Charles Omondi, Eden Agero, Daniel Taabu, Jacob Ojee, Cyprian Kuto, Jefferey Oluoch, Nelson Oyoo, Johnstone Olindi, Brian Wandera.

Main photo: Jacob Ojee; credit: Shujaapride

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *