Australia Sevens coach Tim Walsh makes four changes for London Sevens

By Michael Hudson

Australia Sevens head coach Tim Walsh said he was confident his side can finish the season on a high over the last two tournaments of the HSBC World Sevens Series.

Walsh has made four changes to the Australian squad for the London Sevens, on May 25-26, with Lachlan Anderson returning after recovering from an injury he picked up at February’s Sydney Sevens.

Ben O’Donnell returns after having time off to rest while Jesse Parahi and Sam Myers are the other additions to the squad.

Australia have nothing to play for in the world series in terms of Olympic qualification will go all out in London and Paris.

“We are approaching these last two tournaments with an unrelenting attitude to our preparation. We want to leave a mark on this season and finish strongly,” Walsh was quoted saying by Rugby Australia. “Welcoming Lachie Anderson back is great for the team; Lachie is the consummate professional, developing into a world class player and he’ll add speed and experience to our game.

“London is one of our favourite places to play and we are always well supported by Aussies in the crowd at Twickenham.”

Australia cannot achieve Olympic qualification for the 2020 Olympics through the world series and will have to win the Oceania Sevens Championship to reach Tokyo, just like they did for the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Australia Sevens are seventh on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series standings on 80 points after eight tournaments, seven points behind sixth placed Samoa (87) and one point ahead of eighth-placed Argentina (79).

Australia have been drawn in Pool D of the London Sevens against Wales, Spain and USA.

Complete squad list: Joe Pincus, Jeral Skelton, Simon Kennewell, Lachlan Anderson, Jesse Parahi, Sam Myers, Lewis Holland (c), Josh Coward, Maurice Longbottom, Ben O’Donnell, Lachlan Miller, Henry Hutchison.

Main photo: Ben O’Donnell; credit: Rugby Australia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *