Regional sevens qualifiers schedule announced for 2020 Olympics

By Alex Dudley

The governing body of rugby sevens, World Rugby, has announced the dates and locations for the men’s and women’s qualification competitions for the 2020 Summer Olympic Games in Tokyo. These qualifying rounds will take place between June and November.

With a top-four place in the HSBC World Sevens Series rewarded by a place in the Olympic Games, the qualification rounds have a global feel to them and is one of the most competitive campaigns a team can expect to go through.

The men’s regional qualifiers take place around six regions; with each winner of the regional tournament progressing to the Olympics. These regions are Africa, Asia, Oceania, Europe, South America, and North America.

Meanwhile, the women’s regional competitions take place in Europe, South America, Africa, and Asia. Should two teams qualify from the North American region through the world series, there will be no qualification tournament.

The two highest ranked teams will immediately be a part of next years World Olympic repechage competition. Here the top two teams cement their place at the Olympics. This competition will provide the last chance for teams to secure a place at the summer games and will feature 12 men’s and 12 women’s teams.

The exact dates for the African qualifiers have not yet been announced, but there will be women’s events in Peru and Chile on the first and the two last weekend’s of June. Meanwhile, there will be another event in George Town in July, followed by a men’s competition in France and women’s in Russia on July 13th and 14th.

Fiji will host another combined competition on November 7th. Then the women travel to China and the men to South Korea on the weekend of the 23rd November.

Because Japan is hosting the Games, they have automatically qualified.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *