Scotland name women’s squad for World Series qualifiers in Hong Kong

Scottish Rugby press release

Scotland Women 7s head coach Scott Forrest has named his squad to travel to the HSBC World Sevens Series Qualifier in Hong Kong in early April.

Scotland’s results in the 2018 Rugby Europe Women’s 7s Grand Prix Series season means that they can take part in the HSBC World Series Qualifiers. If Scotland are successful in the Hong Kong qualifiers, they will be invited to take part in the HSBC World Sevens Series 2019/2020 season, with the first of eight legs in October.

All 12 players travelling have been capped for Scotland 7s and Scotland Women, 11 having played in this year’s Women’s Six Nations Championships.

The team will be led by Helen Nelson. Helen, who plays at Montpellier, captained the 7s side in the 2018 season. She will be joined in the squad by Chloe Rollie and Lisa Thomson, all three of which are on Scottish Rugby supported contracts.

Three Hillhead Jordanhill players have been selected in Abi Evans, Louise McMillan and Hannah Smith. Rhona Lloyd and Jenny Maxwell will be travelling after a brief return to their club Loughborough Lightning following the Women’s Six Nations.

Liz Musgrove will be joining the squad in Hong Kong. Liz currently coaches in Hong Kong.

Annabel Sergeant and Megan Gaffney both return to the 7s squad following some time abroad travelling. Firwood Waterloo player Mhairi Grieve is back in the 7s squad as well having last played in 2016.

Said Forrest said: “This is the strongest 7s squad that I have ever been able to select. Despite our preparation for Hong Kong being relatively short, the players have trained well and there was a real competition for places in the final squad.”

“We are well aware of the challenge in front of us and this starts with our first game against Belgium, who finished only one place behind us in Europe last season.”

Scotland Sevens squad to travel to Hong Kong
Abi Evans (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Megan Gaffney (Watsonians)
Mhairi Grieve (Firwood Waterloo)
Rhona Lloyd (Loughborough Lightning)
Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning)
Louise McMillan* (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Liz Musgrove* (Hong Kong)
Helen Nelson** (Montpellier)
Chloe Rollie** (Lille Metropole Rugby Club Villeneuvios)
Annabel Sergeant (Heriots RFC)
Hannah Smith (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Lisa Thomson** (Darlington Mowden Park RFC)
* Fosroc Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Supported Player 2018/19
** 2021 Supported Contract 2018/19

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *