Wellington’s Northern United win New Zealand title

Northern United were crowned New Zealand National Club Sevens champions in Auckland last weekend.

The Wellington club sevens champions earned the right to be New Zealand title holders by defeating 2013 champions and Auckland club Pakuranga 28-14 in the final. It was their maiden Middlesex County Wavell Wakefield club title.

Junior Time Taotua (two), Johnny Teleaga and Esi Komaisavai crossed the chalk for their four converted tries. Norths had defeated Bay of Plenty’s Te Puna 12-7 in the semi-finals and had earlier knocked out Counties Manukau’s Ardmore Marist 14-7 in the last eight.

Beaten finalists Pakuranga defeated Northland’s Old Boys Marist 36-10 in their quarterfinal and then knocked out fellow-Aucklanders and defending champions Eden in the semis.

It was a remarkable comeback for Norths who had lost their opening pool match on the first day, going down 10-26 to Te Puna. They clawed their way back winning the next two pool games to enter the knockout stages and then gain sweet revenge over Te Puna in the semi-finals.

Norths are the second Wellington team to win the National Club Sevens title following Wainuiomata’s triumph in 2015. Norths will now defend their title next year hosting the tournament at the Jerry Collins Stadium.

Counties Manukau’s Ardmore Marist won the Plate competition, Canterbury champions Marist Albion won the Bowl and Marist North Harbour took home the Shield.

Source: ClubRugby, New Zealand

Photo: Auckland Rugby Union Supporters’ Club

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *