Springbok Sevens scoop three South Africa awards in 2018

The Springbok Sevens scooped three South Africa Rugby awards in 2018 on Thursday including Team of the Year, Coach of the Year and Sevens Player of the Year.

Neil Powell won the coveted Coach of the Year award for guiding the team to a consecutive World Sevens Series title at the end of last season. Powell, a former captain of the Springbok Sevens, took over as sevens coach in 2013from Paul Treu and coached the team to a bronze medal at the Rio Olympics.

Dylan Sage was named Sevens Player of the Year. A back in the 15’s game, Sage has been used by Powell as a forward and had become one of themainstays of South Africa’s Sevens side in the past three seasons.

Sage, 26, has put his sevens career on hold as he pursues success in 15-man rugby, and at the end of last season left to join the Pretoria based Blue Bulls ahead of the Currie Cup season.

“For the moment it (sevens career) is over. But yu never know what the future holds. I can’t say I’m gone forever but for the near future I’m not coming back,” Sage was quoted in the South African media. Gone but not forgotten and for his exploits last season, South Africa Rugby picked him for the top sevens award.

The Springbok Sevens won the Team of the Year award in 2018 for the consistency they have showed. The Blitzbokke repeated their 2016-2017 success by finishing on top of the World Series ladder for a second consecutive year and have been rewarded for that achievement.

Photos: SA Rugby

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *